Today, Github announced a new feature for organization owners that gives them the ability to limit who can delete repositories.
The setting is enabled by default, allowing organization members with admin permissions for a repository to delete it. When the feature is disabled, only organization owners will be able to delete the repository.
You can find this new setting under the organization settings page and “member privileges” tab.
In the announcement, Github also said, “The next GitHub Enterprise release will include the same organization setting for repository deletion. In addition, there will be an appliance-level override that will limit repository deletion to only site-administrators.”
This is just a small change but will be beneficial for working in team environments.